top of page

When I focus on myself. Written by Keren Obara.



When I solely focus on me, life feels magical. I read that this is the reason monks choose a life of solitude and choose never to get married or have offspring. In their philosophy, interpersonal desire is just as poisonous as the desire for material things.


For it is through social desire that we attain our most painful wounds, when we realize we are not the preferred cup of tea, and that the preferred cup of tea can change at any minute. When we seek approval, when we seek to be seen, when we seek to be understood, we lay out a fragile part of ourselves. This part, I believe, is supposed to be left in childhood, but crosses over into adulthood due to unmet needs/ wants.


A temporary remedy I have found to work for me is the practice of non-importance. When I embrace non-importance, suddenly all standards, desires, and expectations disappear. I become free. In this detached mode, I achieve my greatest accomplishments. I fly as free as a bird. I focus on what is relevant to me, and I give up on everyone else. When I return to a linear mode of focus, everything becomes simpler. Simplicity is key. Minimalism is key. My greatest source of wealth is the ability to focus solely on me.


Keren Obara.

Master of Science in Management.

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

©2021 by Keren Obara Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page